February Artist of the Month: Hey.halle

VersaChalk Artist of the Month this February - @Hey.halle


Tell us a little about yourself. How did you get started?

I got started back in 2013, I was a senior graphic designer for a toy company, originally from Portland but living in Hong Kong. I came home to be the maid of honor in my best friends wedding and she had asked me to do all of her chalkboards—and I loved it! I didn’t do another wedding again until 2015 when I had my first daughter, Halle, and decided to leave my job and dive in head first into the industry. My two friends owned a floral company and recommended me to all of their couples that first summer which gave me a great kickstart! From there I continued to pour everything I had into this business, the main thing being time. I would practice my lettering for hours a day while staying home with Halle (who was 6 months old at the time I started) and learn from my grandpa on how to build/make my own signs, frames and easels. It was definitely a family business those first couple years and I had a LOT of support and help from our extended family!



What do you love most about being a lettering artist/calligrapher?
My grandpa, Grama, parents, husband, and kids all continue to be a huge support (and help!) when it comes to HeyHalle! Always offering a helping hand, a suggestion, or even being a babysitter when it’s crunch time on a project. I would not have HeyHalle if it weren’t for my family and I am forever grateful for their continuous love and support of my business!

What do you like to do in your spare time / Fun facts about yourself!
I got asked recently what my hobbies were, and I felt like I had no answer. I had to think about it for a while because, truly, my hobby is lettering and design and I felt ridiculous saying it, but my hobby is my work. I love it and I feel so lucky that I get to be creative every day, while also staying home and spending time with our 3 young kids. It’s been both extremely challenging, and extremely rewarding and I can’t imagine ever doing anything else.